More awards for Banksy film

Almost a year to the day since its last minute inclusion into the 2010 Sundance Film Festival program Banksy’s Exit Through the Gift Shop won the top award at the Cinema Eye Honors in New York this week, which recognizes the year’s best non-fiction films.

The film won the Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking gong. The films producer Jamie D’Cruz picked up the award and read out the following specially prepared speech from Banksy:

“Now’s not the time for long, rambling speeches. I’ll leave that for the director of Waiting for ‘Superman.’ I’d like to thank the Cinema Eye awards. It’s great to be recognized by people who are so obsessed with the documentary genre—in other words,people who are even more socially retarded than myself. I guess some of you may be getting a bit suspicious about me. How can you know that this award is real? But I’d like to categorically assure you that this evening’s awards are not being staged by actors for a parody I’m making about film awards. I’d like to thank anyone who worked on the movie. Almost all of them did a great job. And I’d like to dedicate this award to anyone out there who’s ever looked at the state of this world and though: ‘I can’t just stand idly by and watch this happen. I need to get it on tape.’ Thank you and have a good evening.”


ABOVE: The films editor Chris King and producer Jamie D’Cruz.

The film also won a second award for Outstanding Editing for Chris King and Tom Fulford.

Congratulations to Banksy, Jamie, Chris, Tom  and all the rest of the films crew.

Source/Photo: www.ifc.comwww.cinemaeyehonors.com, www.moviecitynews.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

